3rd Art Symposium

3rd Art Symposium

Exploring the relationship between art and politics

The third Art Symposium, entitled “Art in Politics”, was held at the Minos Beach Hotel in the summer of 1993. The idea for the approach came directly from Boris Yeltsin’s rise to power and the imminent breakup of the Soviet Union. The event also coincided with international celebrations marking 2,500 years since the birth of democracy.

The main aim of the Symposium was to present artists who had experienced long periods during which their freedom of expression and output was curtailed by totalitarian regimes. A number of the 22 guest artists came from Russia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Hungary, and Bulgaria, while others came from Austria, Peru, the United States, China and Greece.

Seven distinguished speakers from different countries also participated in the symposium, including the renowned Greek expert on Byzantine studies, Helene Ahrweiler.

In conclusion, the Symposium demonstrated the enduring relationship between art and politics through the ages, but also the inviolable need of artists, whose greatest political choice was the pursuit of their art, for freedom and pluralism.

Conceived and organised by: Gina Mamidaki

Exhibition was curated and the Symposium was coordinated by: Dmitri L. Coromilas

Publisher and Art Director: Dmitri L. Coromilas

Photography by: Vangelis Roccas, Constantin Tzelios

Additional Photography by: Friederich Fink, Chris Kelley

Texts by: Alexandra Boutari, Dmitri L. Coromilas, Lorand Hegyi, Elzbieta Koscielak, Olga Mala, Katalin Neray, Nicolaos Zoroyiannides

Graphic Coordination by: Vassilis Efthimiou

Location: Minos Beach art hotel, Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Duration: 5-11/1993 & 1994

Participating Artists: Magdalena Abakanowicz (Poland), Klara Borbas (Hungary), Costis Triantaphyllou (Greece), Boris Despodov (Bulgaria), Dimitris Dokatzis (Greece), Ingrid Fragantoni (Austria/Greece), Dmitri Gutoff (Russia), Tamas Hencze (Hungary), Ivan Kafka (Czech Republic), Malgorzata Koscielak (Poland/USA), Alexander Kosolapov (Russia/USA), Adela Matasova (Czech Republic), Ludwika Ogorzelec (Poland/France), Boris Orlov (Russia), Jaroslav Rona (Czech Republic), Angelos Skourtis (Greece), Nedko Solakov (Bulgaria), Nikos Sotiriadis (Greece), Marios Spiliopoulos (Greece), Attilla Tahtahta (Hungary/Peru), Tamas Trombitas (Hungary), Tsi Tson (China/Hong Kong).

The Symposium Speakers: Nikolaos Zoroyiannides (Director General, The Greek Ministry of Culture), Helen Ahrweiler (France), Alexandra Boutari (Greece), Lorand Hegyi (Hungary/Austria), Elzbieta Koscielak (Poland), Olga Mala (Czech Republic), Katalin Neray (Hungary), Philip Zidarov (Bulgaria), Dmitri L. Coromilas (Symposium Coordinator).